Kung-Fu / White Crane

Logo Concept

The White Crane Technique: Classes Available in Montreal

Tradition in Modern Times

As a true witness to a turbulent past, the White Crane Style still stands out today through its traditional training methods and proven combat principles, and is a major contribution to martial arts.

Historical Background

White Crane originated in the self-defense tradition. At the time it was created (Manchu Qing Dynasty 1644-1911), revolution was simmering. Death could come at any moment, which made the practice of martial arts a dangerous activity that was kept out of sight. Making sure these techniques were a well-kept secret was a matter of life or death. You could not simply go from one school to another. Exchanging techniques occurred through challenges instead.

The techniques practiced had to be simple, direct and applied in such a way as to end the combat as soon as it started. At the time, martial arts followers, such as the founder Fang Chi-Niang, had other concerns than physical fitness, a nice muscular appearance, diplomas displayed on their walls or martial titles.

Fang Chi-Niang developed Kung Fu Shaolin of the South that her father had taught by integrating the movements of the crane. This discipline combined speed, agility, power and use of the opponent’s force with precise strikes to vital points. She had four famous disciples who each developed their own methods and styles.

North American Sector

There are four major White Crane styles. Today there are several other branches of the system that are often very different in appearance and application. The White Crane Style practiced by the author is that of the Flying Crane (Fei He). This art is one of the original variants to Fang Chi-Niang’s teachings. Long kept secret, this style became accessible to the public only very recently. 

The style was taught in Malaysia starting in the 1950s by Grand-Master Lee-Kiang Ke (1903-1992). The style is today overseen by his son Lee-Joo Chian. In North America, the parent school is directed by Shifu Lorne Bernard, a recognized pioneer in this style.

  • Recognized school, 300 years of history 
  • Authentic style 
  • Defense suited to confined areas (urban center) 
  • Strikes to pressure points
  • Hand-to-hand 
  • Weapons handling 
  • Fast and effective self-defense
  • (no mandatory sports tournaments, real martial art)

The Student’s Training

Step by step training is preferred. The Tao or Kata forms teach coordination, proper structure and body movement. Movements are then practiced with two people in order to deepen the understanding of the distances and martial applications. Several applications are possible for a single movement.

To test the strength and precision of strikes, the student is encouraged to use tools such as bags of rice that simulate the resistance of an average body. Distances, timing and reflexes are acquired with free combat.

The arms (White Crane has 18) are taught once the style basics are learned. Long Baton (Guen) is the specialty. Again, the same step by step teaching system is preferred. This style has about a hundred barehanded forms as well as a multitude of forms with weapons.

The most dangerous techniques are not taught until the advanced level and are taught in private only, to serious practitioners who are often instructors themselves.

We must remember that the style does not apply to regulated competition or to any kind of combat sport, since the techniques that are taught and practiced are all prohibited due to concerns for safety. In White Crane, no hits or holds are barred.

Académie Serei, Martial Arts Centre offers quality courses in Montreal, taught by our Shifu Claude Rose.

For more details, contact us at 514-436-3268 or baihechuan@outlook.com.

Logo Concept

Would you like to sign up? Call us to confirm your choice of discipline. 

Course Schedule. Take a look at our course schedule.

Académie Serei, Martial Arts Centre

6530, Papineau Avenue

Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie

Montréal, QC

H2G2X2

Business Hours

Contact us now for an overview of our services.

Send to a friend

Send the url of this page to a friend of yours

Copyright Académie Martiale Serei 2018 - Legal
Created by

Legal notice

Kung-Fu / White Crane

Logo Concept

La technique du White Crane : classes disponibles à Montréal

La tradition face à la modernité

Véritable témoin d’un passé tumultueux, le style White Crane se distingue encore aujourd’hui par des méthodes d’entraînement traditionnelles, des principes de combat éprouvés, et une contribution importante aux arts martiaux.

Contexte historique

Le White Crane vient d’une tradition d’auto-défense. Au moment de son élaboration (dynastie Manchu des Ching 1644-1911), la révolution bouillait. La mort guettait à tout moment, et faisait de la pratique des arts martiaux une
activité dangereuse et gardée à l’abri de tous les regards. Le secret bien gardé des techniques était aussi une question de vie ou de mort. On ne changeait pas de clan (école) comme on voulait à l’époque. Les échanges de techniques se faisaient plutôt sous forme de défis.

Les techniques pratiquées devaient être simples, directes et appliquées de façon à ce que le combat soit terminé dès le début de l’engagement. Les adeptes d’arts martiaux, telle la fondatrice Fang Chi-Niang, avaient à ce moment d’autres préoccupations que la forme physique, une belle apparence musclée, les diplômes affichés sur les murs ou les titres martiaux.

Fang Chi-Niang développa le Kung Fu Shaolin du Sud que son père lui avait enseigné, en y combinant les mouvements de la grue. Elle combina vitesse, agilité, puissance et l’utilisation de la force de l’adversaire avec la frappe précise des points vitaux. Elle a eu quatre disciples célèbres qui développèrent chacun leurs propres méthodes ou styles.

Filière nord-américaine

Il y a 4 styles majeurs de Grue Blanche. Aujourd’hui, il existe plusieurs autres branches du système, souvent très différentes en apparence et application. Le style de White Crane pratiqué par l’auteur est celui de la Grue Volante (Fei He). Cet art est une des variantes originales des enseignements de Fang Chi-Niang. Longtemps gardé secret, le style a été accessible au public que très récemment.



Le style a été enseigné en Malaisie à partir des années 1950 par le Grand-Maître Lee-Kiang Ke (1903-1992). Le style est aujourd’hui dirigé par son fils Lee-Joo Chian. En Amérique du Nord, l’école mère est dirigée par Shifu Lorne Bernard, un pionnier reconnu dans le style.

  • École reconnue, 300 ans d'histoire 
  • Style authentique 
  • Défense adaptée aux endroits restreints (centre urbain) 
  • Frappes aux points de pression
  • Formes mains nues 
  • Maniement d'armes 
  • Autodéfense efficace et rapide
  • (Pas de tournois sportifs obligatoires, art martial véritable)

L’entraînement de l’élève

L’entraînement par étape est favorisé. Les formes (Tao ou Kata) enseignent la coordination, la bonne structure et le mouvement du corps. Les mouvements sont ensuite pratiqués à deux personnes afin d’approfondir la compréhension des distances et des applications martiales. Plusieurs applications sont possibles pour un seul mouvement.

Pour tester la force et la précision des frappes, l’élève est encouragé à utiliser des outils, tels les sacs de riz, qui simulent la résistance d’un corps moyen face aux coups. Les distances, le timing, les réflexes sont acquis avec le combat libre.

Les armes (le White Crane en compte 18) sont enseignées une fois les bases du style apprises. Le bâton long (Guen) est la spécialité. Encore, le même système d’apprentissage par étape est favorisé. Le style compte une centaine de formes à mains nues ainsi qu’une multitude de formes avec des armes.

Les techniques les plus dangereuses sont gardées au niveau de formes avancées, enseignées en privé aux pratiquants sérieux, souvent des instructeurs.

Il faut retenir que le style ne s’applique pas à la compétition réglementée ou à un quelconque sport de combat, les techniques enseignées et pratiquées étant toutes interdites par souci de sécurité. En White Crane, tous les coups et saisies sont permis.

L’Académie Serei, Centre d’arts martiaux vous offre des cours de qualité à Montréal, enseignés par notre Shifu Claude Rose.

Pour plus de détails, contactez-nous au 514-436-3268 ou baihechuan@outlook.com.

Logo Concept

Vous souhaitez vous inscrire? Appelez-nous pour confirmer votre choix de discipline. 

Heures de cours. Jetez un coup d'oeil à notre tableau d'horaires.

Académie Martiale Serei

6530, Avenue Papineau
Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie

Montréal, QC

H2G2X2

Heures d'ouverture

Contactez-nous maintenant pour avoir un aperçu de nos services

Envoyer à un ami

Envoyer l'URL de cette page à un(e) de vos ami(e)s

Tous droits réservés Académie Martiale Serei 2017 - Mention légale
Création de

Mention legale